5 WoD Pet Related Things to Get Hype About!

Man, it took me like 20 minutes to try and come up with a title for this article that wasn’t a mouthful. I just couldn’t do it, I’m sorry people. A master wordsmith I am not.

Before I get into my list I want to say that everything posted here is my own speculation based on tweets by devs as well as blog posts and information from Blizzcon. Take it all with a grain of salt because I very frequently have no idea what I’m doing at any given moment. (I’ve been known to install simple things like vacuum cleaner handles upside-down, for example.)

With WoD around the corner…a very large corner…but around it nonetheless, I think a lot of the pet community has been hungry for morsels of information about what is to come in WoD. Anyone who enjoys pet battling should be using warcraft pets as their go-to site, but a lot of information gets lost in translation amongst the many dev twitter accounts and fansites and yadda yadda. I wanted to hop aboard the hype train and add my own special brand of fuel to the fire with my ideas. So here’s my list:

5) Let’s get this obvious one out of the way – NEW PETS.

peacock

I mean yeah if you weren’t expecting new pets in WoD I have no idea what to tell you. A few of them have been datamined so far, but the one that has ruffled many feathers thus far has been the peacock pet.

CERTAIN pet battlers have been ah, asking? Demanding…pinning notes to pet battle dev doors with knives…or how about – requesting? Yes. Requesting. That a peacock pet be added in since the models were first datamined ages ago. Here we go. They’re there, woop woop. My own ~~~speculation~~~~ is that this bird is going to be the new pet collection achievement reward. Collect a gaboojillion pets and you get a peacock. Hah. Or it could be tied into the new Arrakoa content.

But besides that there are plenty of other pets in the pipeline. Much excite.

4) New pet related achievements.

mothimage

Okay maybe it’s not FAIR to have this and the new pets be separate categories but they kinda are. With a new expansion we’re looking at another tier of pet achievements. This means another collection achievement, another leveling achievement, probably more new dailies or tournaments to do, and another tier of prior content raid pets – looking at you ICC.

Very few new pet achievements have been datamined so far and that’s good and bad. Good because there’s still an element of surprise and bad because one of the ways people get more information about in development content and what it entails is by looking at the achievements that have been put in for it. But I KNOW they’re coming. They have to be, right? RIGHT?

3) Pets in your garrison.

best pic i've ever drawn

Pets are going to be tied into the garrisons via the stable building. (Sidenote, if you haven’t seen Alternative Chat’s garrison guides yet, it’s worth a look.) So far we know that’s where the mounts and pets will go, and the devs have hinted on twitter that there will be a traveling/visiting pet trainer to your stables to train with. Rotating weekly? Daily? Monthly? Living on your couch until you finally get up the nerve to tell them they’re stinking up the joint? I don’t know.

My hope is that you’ll be able to have some of your pets just kinda sittin’ and chillin’ in your garrison as well to add some ambiance. Nothing says home sweet home like your ghostly skull or filthling laying by the fireplace. Aw.

A while ago developer Corey Stockton also asked on twitter for suggestions for pet battle related titles that could be tied to garrisons, so that’s also a thing. Maybe a nice, “the rescuer” title for everyone who adopted pets out in the wild. Or a, “really effing patient” title because living with pets that are constantly leaving poop and fur everywhere is a waking nightmare hahahaha not that I would know.

2) The potential for a breeding system down the line.

petcombine

Okay so, I was hype at blizzcon when I got to talk to Corey Stockton a bit about the pet breeding system. To me, it was glorious. I have played….a lot…of pet battle related games. The system they were developing for WoW sounded a lot like the old Monster Rancher system of combining monsters.

You take two monsters/pets and combine them in a special room and a new monster is born with some of the attributes of its parent monsters, though those parents are lost in the mix. That sat just fine with me, because if you’re trying to build the perfect pet, you have to scramble a few eggs. Wait. That’s a terrible analogy.

Either way. In the WoW system you would take Pet A and Pet B and mix’em. Pet B would be lost in the mix and Pet C, babby pet, would be created. Hopefully with the stats and pet family you were hoping for. You’d keep Pet A and now have Pet C to add to your lineup. As long as the two pets were from the same pet family (elemental, dragonkin, etc.) they could be combined. This means that you could just go out and catch fodder pets in the world to combine with your beloved favorite pets. So some risk, but ultimately still a safe system.

Like I said, I’m used to the system from past games so I was good with it. Others weren’t, and that’s okay. And since it’s a HUGE amount of coding to undertake, the devs decided to wait until they could get the feedback to make the system just right for everyone. That means it may not come in WoD, but my sincerest hope is that it will.

Now that I think about it, a LOT of WoW pet battle stuff reminds me of Monster Rancher. All those frustrating days doing tournaments in Monster Rancher and having a 99% chance to hit in battles, only to still whiff every move you dished out.

….weh.

1) You knew this was coming, right? New pet items.

such a punchable face

Hey uh, so uh, hey. Yeah uh. So uh. There’s an item in WoD that will be able to make grounded pets fly. It uh, it MIGHT be named after someone familiar maybe? I mean, I dunno. *thumbs suspenders* Must be someone pretty cool.

Okay wait stop, no, I’m not that egotistical. (Yeah I am.) But let me explain -

There are a few pet related items that have been added or named due to feedback from the pet battle community. The meaning of this is twofold. One: It’s really fuckin’ cool. Two: It means that the pet battle developers are not turning a deaf ear to their customerbase. They are listening, they are interacting, they are encouraging. You see that a little bit in WoW when it comes to armor or item references for theorycrafters or upstanding community members (There needs to just be an entire city in game dedicated to the people who work at WoWhead JS.) but the pet battle devs take it to a whole ‘nother level.

Given that I think some expected pet battles to be a cute little side game that people maybe did once in a while, the way it has blossomed both on the player side and the dev side has been really encouraging. It’s been fun to watch how it’s kind of…evolved into its own thing.

And that kind of sums up my feelings about the pet related WoD hype. The most exciting thing about pet related WoD stuff is THAT IT’S THERE IN SUCH A MAJOR CONTEXT. Okay? See, I went somewhere with it all.

The term I used before? Really fuckin’ cool? That fits. Fits pretty well.

One thought on “5 WoD Pet Related Things to Get Hype About!

Leave a Reply

