3 Battle Pets that Never Let Me Down

As we get closer and closer to the next expansion, leveling battle pets has just become routine for me. I’m not even sure why I still do it at this point since I have so many, but I just want to be surrounded by as many cute level 25 pets as possible. Once garrisons come out I expect that opening the front door of mine will result in an EXPLOSION of pets just spouting out the door. (Though this comic is probably going to be a more realistic prediction of my behavior come WoD.)

If you’ve dabbled in pet battles or haven’t really picked them up yet, now is a really good time to get into it. The market for pets is good, and the charms, valor, and gold you get from the battles and daily quests can still be put to good use. Since the level cap for pets is NOT increasing in Warlords, any pets you get to level 25 now will remain “current” in the next expansion.

With all the leveling I do, there are a few pets that I use on a consistent basis that I think are going to continue to be useful into WoD for pet leveling. Obviously we don’t know what the new tamer spreads will be just yet, but the pets I have in mind cover some pretty broad bases and are very useful now. I see no reason for them to lose their utility in the expansion.

Everyone has different opinions on pets and which are the “best.” These are not the “best” pets per se, but they are the ones I use most in my daily rounds of pet leveling due to their movesets and other useful factors. I tried to keep this list restricted to easily acquirable pets. “Easy” in my mind means easy to farm, or reasonable to purchase on the in game AH. So let’s get started!

1: Anubisath Idol

I’m going to just flat out say that ANY pet battler you meet will tout the usefulness of the anubisath idol, especially when it comes to pet leveling. Sandstorm alone is an incredibly useful move because you can swap in low level pets on tamers (like Aki the chosen) who use pets with swarm moves. With sandstorm active the swarms do 0 damage, and your leveling pet can absorb the damage and then swap out to get the exp without any real danger.

Deflection is also a great defensive move, and then you can spend the rest of the battle crushing your way to victory while the humanoid passive (health renew tick every turn) keeps it alive. The anubisath idol is not a FAST killer – but he’s a RELIABLE killer. And that is critical when it comes to putting together initial teams for 2 vs 3 leveling squads.

The idol drops from the Twin Emps in AQ40. They can sometimes sell for quite a chunk of change on the AH, but they are worth every copper. Farm it or buy it, if you don’t have one of these at level 25 you are – and will continue to miss out.

2. P/P Yellow Moth

Out of all the flying types this poor moth is sometimes overshadowed by all the darkness/nocturnal strike combos. But I like this little guy since he doesn’t rely on a setup and still really holds his own. Well rounded and deadly, this little bugger is my go-to for any and all aquatic pets INCLUDING annoying turtles.

Cocoon strike is a great defensive move when you know a dive or headbutt is coming. And it has a shorter cooldown than lift-off, though it does significantly less damage. Moth dust is high damage and also has the chance to put enemies to sleep, and alpha strike is high damage against most mobs since very few can beat the flying type’s speed advantage.

Given that this moth has the flying racial, it gets that automatic speed boost over 50% health. That means that since this thing has a p/p breed, it’s a little flying mothy powerhouse and I love it so much.

This little dude comes from the pet vendor in the exodar. It has several breeds, so it might take you some time to pick up the p/p option. It also starts out at uncommon quality, so if you have a battlestone you’re gonna want to stone it right away and then go level it!

3) Darkmoon Tonk

With all the beast pets in the world, having a mechanical pet on this list was a given. I usually keep my tonk in the 3rd pet battle spot for most tamer battles, including little Oondasta and the darkmoon tamer Jeremy Feasel because while it isn’t the biggest SUPER OMG AWESOME powerhouse, it makes a good finisher/clean up pet.

Ion cannon is a great finisher move, and minefield and shock and awe are great too. Mechanical pets in general are always good to keep around. Their racial is pretty wicked, and most of their moves to heavy damage. A lot…a LOT of tamers also use beast pets in their rotation, so the type bonus is really good to have as well. In terms of accessible and easy to use mech pets, the tonk is your guy! …robot….thing?

The tonk is sold for darkmoon tickets at the darkmoon faire, but they also sell for decent prices on the AH as well. It took me a while to finally pick one up, but now that I’ve got one I use it more often than not.

With the main 3 pets out of the way, I wanted to also add in two runner up pets that are extremely useful in their own ways.

The zandalari anklerender is one of the best critter farming pets you can have. It does great damage, and devour ensures that you won’t need to make any trips back to the stablemaster. Swap your leveling pet out for this lil’guy, go to down, devour, move on. If you’re out of tamers to 2 vs 3 and still want to level, take your leveling pet and this cutie out to the valley of the four winds – turn on some music – and grind for as long as you want.

The anklerender and its raptor brothers are all found as drops on the isle of giants. But they’re also usually up on the AH for fairly cheap. Worth the purchase!

Lastly, the rocket chicken pet is honestly one of the best battle pets I use on a daily basis. He would have been 3rd on my list, but as a TCG pet it doesn’t really fall into the realm of “easily available.” If you have one, luck into one of the cards, or find one cheap on the AH or BMAH, they are worth the purchase. The combination of flying and mechanical moves along with having launch AND a decent speed stat…yeah. I love this little thing.

With WoW’s TCG being phased out, I don’t know what is going to happen for future collectors looking to get ahold of a rocket chicken. I’m sure they’ll continue to pop up on the BMAH, but they’ll go from rare to OMGICANTFINDTHISTHINGANYWHERE which kinda stinks since it’s such a useful pet.

The ONLY other pet that has launch (which is a mechanical version of lift-off) is Grunty, who is also a limited edition pet. I’m a fan of keeping PETS rare, but not keeping MOVE AND STAT SETS rare. If Blizzard wants to make a rocket chicken clone with a different model available in WoD with the same stats and moveset available, I will be VERY pleased because it means more people will get access to an awesome and highly useful pet.

So I think that’s about it. If you need me, I’ll just be over here in my gigantic mountain of pets, wondering where I went wrong with my life.

petshaaa

Leave a Reply

